Effects of Smoking on the Skin

bgl4

As a former smoker, I felt compelled to share this information because I am very conscious of how my skin looks and feels.  I watched my precious grandmother Binny suffer through COPD (chronic obstructive pulmonary disease) and wearing oxygen the last years of her life and I was still smoking.  I know because of experience that it must be your own choice to quit smoking and although skin health was not my main reason for quitting (my main reason was that I promised my 3 daughters that I would quit). After I quit smoking my skin experienced such drastic results, and I became fully aware of the effects of smoking on the skin. After I quit, others were telling me how great I looked and that my skin was glowing.  No other changes had occurred other than quitting smoking.  I share this information as a hopeful catapult to help those that want to quit, to kick that habit forever.  We are worth it and so is our skin! :-)

Effects of Smoking on the Skin

1)  Bags Under the Eyes

Johns Hopkins reported smokers are 4 times more likely to feel tired after a “good night’s sleep”.  It is possibly connected to the nicotine withdrawals causing restless sleeping.

2)  Premature Wrinkles and Aging

Smoking suppresses blood flow to the skin which causes a loss in elasticity and plumpness. Not to mention that pumping carcinogens and oxidants into the skin causes damage to DNA and creates free radicals which are like little Tasmanian devils to healthy cells, causing smokers to look older than their age.

3) Scarring

Nicotine causes constriction of the capillaries which then reduces the amount of free oxygen required for wound healing.  Smokers skin takes longer to heal, and once healed, the scarring will be more visible than a non-smokers scars.

4)  Gray Skin Tone

Healthy skin has a pink glow.  This is due to blood flow, and when blood flow is compromised by nicotine the skin tends to be dull and gaunt looking.  Important nutrients such as vitamin C are depleted with smoking.  Vitamin C plays many important roles in maintaining healthy skin including healing, hydration, lightening and is a powerful anti-oxidant. It fights those free radical little Tasmanian devils attempting to destroy healthy cells. :)

5)  Cancer

According to the Skin Care Foundation, “Smokers beware: in addition to raising your odds of developing lung cancer, strokes, and heart attacks, smoking also boosts your risk of squamous cell carcinoma (SCC) by 52 percent, according to a major new study. SCC, the second most common skin cancer, affects an estimated 700,000 people in the US annually.   The disease will kill approximately 2,500 people in the US this year.”

6)  Stretch marks

Although anyone can develop stretch marks due to weight gain and pregnancy, the loss in blood flow to the skin caused by nicotine damages the collagen and elastin in our skin which keep it firm and plump.

Here is a list of resources if you are interested in quitting smoking: